Log in

No account? Create an account
March 24 2015 @ 11:48 am
One More Chance (#8) by Abbi Glines  
Title: One More Chance
Series: Rosemary Beach, 8
Author: Abbi Glines
Pages: 273
Links: click image

Book Description:
Grant Carter did everything in his power to convince Harlow Manning that he was a good guy. More than a smooth-talker and someone she could trust. He had to overcome his reputation as a playboy, and his history with Harlow's half-sister, Nan, a woman with a reputation of her own.

Harlow had taken the chance, falling hard and fast for the guy who thrilled her with his all-consuming desire. After a lifetime of avoiding bad boys like Grant, she had opened herself to the possibilities of love...

But a life-changing secret has torn them apart, and now Grant and Harlow must decide if they have enough fight to make it work - or if the pain of betrayal has permanently destroyed their future.

My Thoughts on the Book
I can't say this series or any of Glines's books are in-depth thought provoking reads but they are good. To some extent they have a cliche cheesy love story in them. You essentially know the outcome of the story and yet every time I think, "Do I need to read this?" I inevitably come up with the answer, "Yes."

One More Chance is no exception. You read the description and feel like you already know the outcome so why read it. It is going to be cliche. But I've read it and it really made me laugh and cry with the characters. And this volume of her books, scared me.

Harlow is the good girl in her family. She's quiet and strong but she's never really taken a chance on love. She's always just kept to herself. Until Grant came into her life and made her believe in happily ever after... well until he screwed it up by freaking out about her heart condition.

And then Harlow realizes she's pregnant which is a no-no with her heart. But Harlow is determined to have her baby, risking her life to bring a piece of Grant and herself into the world.

The thing is there is no way Grant, who has finally made up for his stupidity, can live without Harlow should she now make it through delivery.

One thing Glines does that some highly praised authors don't seem capable of is including past characters without making it a long list over and over again. The characters have their moments and their rolls to play while reminding fans and readers that these are the friends that Harlow and Grant are counting on to be there for them.

I have to say I also enjoyed Glines giving us more insight into Nan who had being a royal pain from book one but I always suspected had some much hurt inside of her that all that nastiness was about hurting before you are hurt. Her father doesn't help that in the least.

I'm hoping that Nan gets happiness despite her past behavior because sometimes the lack of love in someones life makes them lash out to release some of the pain they feel inside.

Very good read.

Other Book in the Series: