Log in

No account? Create an account
July 15 2014 @ 05:00 pm
The Kraken King (#4) by Meljean Brook  

Title: The Kraken King
Series: Iron Seas, 4 (4.1-4.8)
Author: Meljean Brook
Pages: 750 (in 8 parts)
Links: click image

Book Description:
A former smuggler and thief, Ariq—better known as the Kraken King—doesn’t know what to make of the clever, mysterious woman he rescues from an airship besieged by marauders. Unsure if she’s a spy or a pawn in someone else’s game, Ariq isn’t about to let her out of his sight until he finds out…

After escaping her fourth kidnapping attempt in a year, Zenobia Fox has learned to vigilantly guard her identity. While her brother Archimedes is notorious for his exploits, Zenobia has had no adventures to call her own—besides the stories she writes.

But when she jumps at the chance to escape to the wilds of Australia and acquire research for her next story, Zenobia quickly discovers that the voyage will be far more adventurous than any fiction she could put to paper…

My Thoughts on the Book
Currently, this book is broken up into 8 parts which can be discouraging when purchasing but I will tell you this: Meljean Brook's Iron Seas Series is fantastic.

This serial is about Zenobia Fox the sister of Archimedes Fox and the author of his adventures within this world. In reading the Archimedes stories you get to read letters from Zenobia and I've always found their correspondence to be quit fun.

And then Meljean decided to go write this serial which not only gives us letters between the siblings but an adventure for Zenobia and banter with the Kraken King which is beyond funny.

Brook clearly has a quick wit which she lends fully to Zenobia who has become my favorite character (previously it was Archimedes). Ariq is no exception as he is smart, witty and refreshing as a heroine who is not at all put off by the fact that Zenobia has a bit of hero in her as well and a mind like a steel trap.

This series is fantastic but the books I would recommend the most (if you are willing to read them all -shame on you) are Archimedes tales and of course this serial of 8 with Zenobia's story.

I truly hope Brook writes more about Zenobia and Ariq as they are a great couple and bound to encounter more excitement together.

It just dawned on me how long this book really is. Some don't want to read a book that is 750 pages though that isn't really that long to me. But I'll tell you it never felt that long when reading it and that has to be a combination of it being broken up into 8 parts and the fact that the story was so good I never stopped reading. I just went from part to part like it was nothing because the story was so good, funny and entertaining.

The Series
0.4 The Blushing Bounder
0.5 Here There Be Monsters
0.6 The Hook (can be found at Author's site)
1.0 The Iron Duke
1.5 Mina Wentworth and the Invisible City
2.0 Heart of Steel
2.5 Tethered
3.0 Riveted
3.4 Wrecked
3.5 Salvage (Enthralled)
4.0 The Kraken King (I think the 8 parts make us this one book)
4.1 The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster
4.2 The Kraken King and the Abominable Worm
4.3 The Kraken King and the Fox's Den
4.4 The Kraken King and the Inevitable Abduction
4.5 The Kraken King and the Iron Heart
4.6 The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls
4.7 The Kraken King and the Empress's Eyes
4.8 The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure