?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
April 08 2013 @ 05:49 pm
Master of the Highlands by Veronica Wolff  
Title: Master of the Highlands
Series: Highlands, 1
Author: Veronica Wolff
Pages (or KB): 304 (408)
Rating:
Links: Paperback, Kindle

Book Description:
A modern woman finds true love across the ocean-and across time.

A fabulous debut for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Karen Marie Moning


Lily Hamlin is making a pilgrimage to Scotland with hopes for some direction in her life. There she discovers an overgrown maze and a strange stone map-and lands back in time, in the Lochaber of 1654.

Ewen, Chief of the Clan Cameron, must save his people from the brutal redcoats. But then he meets a saucy lass with a peculiar accent, no regard for his title-and an arousing body. Drawn to each other despite their differences, they both realize that they don't want her to go back to her own time. But with battles brewing, staying is a gamble.


What did you think of the book? (Why this book?, New Author? Read more by author? Keeping? Thoughts on Hero? Heroine?)
Billed as being great for Gabaldon and Moning fans, I found this book to be a little disappointing. I'd read in a review that Wolff wrote more historic fiction than romance which I was hoping for because pf my love of Outlander. And while I don't think Wolff focused on the romance, I do think she focused more on the characters and the goings on of the main characters over anything too historic.

Having said that, I don't think the story bad and knowing there are more books gives me some hope there is a continuation to Lily and Swan's story.

Also, I did enjoy the story as itself. I just don't agree that it compares to Moning or Gabaldon. And have since had trouble getting past the first book.


Other Book in the Series:
Master of the Highlands
Sword of the Highlands
Warrior of the Highlands
Lord of the Highlands